Diego Tortelli Portrait_ Franz Kimmel.jp

© Franz Kimmel

DIEGO TORTELLI WORKS

Tortelli's "engaging work (...) begs to be seen live, in order to experience even more the intensity and power that flows between these extraordinary artists." 

Alison Kent about SNOW CRASH, Dance Europe Dec 20/ Jan 21

 

Since 2018, Diego Tortelli and Miria Wurm have been working together to develop independent dance projects in Munich that are characterised by a clear but complex formal language and aesthetics, both in terms of the choreography and the content of the piece and its implementation. Using modern technologies and scientific theories, they create contemporary dance pieces that reflect their personal view of the here and now.

The mainstay of each piece is clearly Tortelli's very own choreographic style, which, like a game of Tetris, splits the body into its individual parts and joints and assembles them again and again, like geometric formulas around the fixed point, the torso, sometimes surreally playful, sometimes architecturally rigid. This shows the body both in all its beauty and skill, but also in its fragility and brokenness, and thus also brings its memory traces to light in a kind of poetic abstraction.

 

The plays are always complemented by the set and lighting designs of Roman Fliegel, who also takes care of the technical direction in general. Another important person in the realisation of the piece is the performer Corey Scott-Gilbert, who, connected by a longstanding friendship, reflects the performative side from his point of view during the development phase in order to create a round from all sides.

 

Contact: https://www.diegotortelli.com/

Diego Tortelli Portrait_ Franz Kimmel.jp

© Franz Kimmel

DIEGO TORTELLI WORKS

Tortelli‘s „engaging work (…) begs to be seen live, in order to experience even more the intensity and power that flows between these extraordinary artists.” 

Alison Kent about SNOW CRASH, Dance Europe Dec 20/ Jan 21

 

Seit 2018 entwickeln Diego Tortelli und Miria Wurm gemeinsam freie Szene Tanzprojekte in München, die sich durch eine klare, aber komplexe Formensprache und Ästhetik sowohl in Hinblick auf die Choreografie als auch auf den Stückinhalt und dessen Umsetzung auszeichnen. Unter Einbezug von modernen Technologien und wissenschaftlichen Theorien kreieren sie zeitgeistige Tanzstücke, die ihren persönlichen Blick auf das Hier und Jetzt spiegeln.
Dabei ist ganz klar der Dreh- und Angelpunkt jeden Stückes der ganz eigene, choreografische Stil von Tortelli, der gleich einem Tetris-Spiel den Körper in seine Einzelteile und Gelenke aufsplittet und diese immer wieder neu, geometrischen Formeln gleich um den Fixpunkt, den Torso, mal surreal verspielt, mal architektonisch starr zusammensetzt. Dies zeigt den Körper sowohl in seiner ganzen Schönheit und seinem Können, aber auch in seiner Fragilität und Gebrochenheit und bringt damit auch dessen Gedächtnisspuren in einer Art poetischen Abstraktion zu Tage.

Komplementiert werden die Stücke stets durch die Bühnenbildkonzepte und Lichtdesigns von Roman Fliegel, der sich auch um die technische Leitung im Allgemeinen kümmert. Eine weitere wichtige Person bei der Stückumsetzung stellt der Performer Corey Scott-Gilbert dar, der durch eine langjährige Freundschaft verbunden, die performative Seite während der Erarbeitungsphase aus seiner Warte rückspiegelt und reflektiert, um so ein Rund von allen Seiten zu erschaffen.

Kontakt: https://www.diegotortelli.com/