top of page

Deutscher Tanzpreis 2023

14. Okt. 2023

The German Dance Award honors outstanding personalities of dance in Germany and recognizes current positions in dance. The focus is on the artistic work of choreographers, dancers, ensembles or collectives. Nevertheless, personalities from the fields of pedagogy, journalism, science or other areas of dance creation can also be honored with the prize.

The award ceremony will take place on October 14, 2023, as part of a festive dance gala at the Aalto Thetaer in Essen.


The German Dance Award 2023 goes to four outstanding dancers and protagonists of dance theater:

Malou Airaudo, Josephine Ann Endicott, Lutz Förster and Dominique Mercy.

From the very first years, they shaped the work of Pina Bausch and the Tanztheater Wuppertal by virtue of their personality and their unconditional contribution to a dance aesthetic that broke with existing conventions and brought about a new way of thinking in and through dance. Despite all initial hostility towards the new, theatrical dance language, the forcefulness and truthfulness of their body narratives contributed significantly to the worldwide fame of Tanztheater Wuppertal and the influence it exerted on the entire international art world.

They took over leading positions in the ensemble, passed on their invaluable knowledge to the next generation of dancers and continue to do so today. The "immaterial cultural heritage" of modern dance and dance theater, acquired in about 50 years, is inscribed in their physical memory.

To this day they are active as dancers, teachers, choreographers, repetiteurs, lecturers and performers and are in demand internationally. Each of them has a unique personality and a high level of professionalism. From Wuppertal, all four developed their radiance into the world and are still sought-after dance personalities.

The German Dance Award 2023 honors their life's work and their tireless, individual commitment to dance to this day.

More Information:

bottom of page