JASmine.png

JASMINE ELLIS

Anna Konjetzky

Jasmine Ellis | Choreographer & Director 

 

Jasmine Ellis is a Canadian choreographer and film director based out of Munich, Germany. A graduate of Etobicoke School of the Arts, The School of Toronto Dance Theatre and Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory, she has worked professionally in dance as a performer and choreographer since 2006. Ellis is an award–winning film director and Artistic Director of Bad Posture Productions

 

Ellis’s uncategorised approach to movement, body language, text and music is the basis of her artistic approach in which humour, vulnerability and familiarity are woven together to create unexpected worlds. 

 

Ellis is regularly awarded grants for independent productions, in addition to commissions for creating stage works nationally and internationally. Works have included Empathy (2018) which was remounted at the Rodeo Festival (Munich); back and until (2018) with Springboard Danse Montreal (Canada) as resident choreographer; the short film lockdown (2020) created in collaboration with LajaMartin - Physical Dance Theater Company (USA); and everything blue (2020) created with Evandro Pedroni (Vienna/Brazil) 

 

Ellis created a trilogy of three full length productions about loneliness from 2019-20:  Lucas is lonely (2019) premiered in Winnipeg, Canada presented by Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers.  Toni is lonely (2019) was realized as part of DANCE Festival in cooperation with Residenztheater and supported by The Canada Council for the Arts, and the hybrid theater film version Is Susan lonely? (2020)  was created and streamed online. Ellis has received funding from The Canada Council for the Arts to create a short film version of the stage production of Toni is Lonely (2021) as well as the #takecare grant from Fonds Darstellende Künste (2021). The cultural department of the city of Munich has granted project funding for skin hunger, which premiered at HochX Munich in Sept 2021. 

 

As an active member of the Munich independent dance scene, Ellis heads the Bad Lemons Project, which promotes a lively and collaborative community through professional training, training exchange and research projects. 

Kontakt:

info@jasminellis.com

www.jasminellis.com

JASmine.png

JASMINE ELLIS

Anna Konjetzky

Jasmine Ellis | Choreografin & Regisseurin

 

Jasmine Ellis ist eine kanadische Choreografin und Filmregisseurin mit Sitz in München. Als Absolventin der Etobicoke School of the Arts, der School of Toronto Dance Theatre und des Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory arbeitet sie seit 2006 professionell als Performerin und Choreografin. Ellis ist eine preisgekrönte Filmregisseurin und die künstlerische Leiterin der Filmproduktionsfirma Bad Posture Productions.

 

Ellis spartenübergreifender Umgang mit Bewegung, Körpersprache, Text und Musik bildet die Grundlage ihres künstlerischen Ansatzes. Humor, Verletzlichkeit und Vertrautheit verwebt sie miteinander, um unerwartete Welten zu erschaffen.

 

Neben Auftragsarbeiten für nationale und internationale Bühnen werden Ellis freie Produktionen regelmäßig gefördert. Zu den jüngsten Arbeiten gehören Empathy (2018), das beim Rodeo Festival (München) aufgeführt wurde; back und until (2018) im Rahmen des Springboard Danse Montreal (Kanada) als Resident Choreographer; der Kurzfilm lockdown (2020), der in Zusammenarbeit mit LajaMartin - Physical Dance Theater Company (USA) entstand; und everything blue (2020), das mit Evandro Pedroni (Wien/Brasilien) entstand.

 

Von 2019 bis 2020 erschuf Ellis eine Trilogie von drei abendfüllenden Produktionen über Einsamkeit:  Lucas is lonely (2019), uraufgeführt in Winnipeg, Kanada, präsentiert von Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers.  Toni is lonely (2019) wurde im Rahmen des DANCE Festivals in Kooperation mit dem Residenztheater realisiert und vom Canada Council for the Arts unterstützt, und der hybride Theaterfilm Is Susan lonely? (2020) als Online Stream. Ellis erhielt eine Förderung von The Canada Council for the Arts für die Erstellung einer Kurzfilmversion der Bühnenproduktion von Toni is lonely (2021) sowie das #takecare Stipendium vom Fonds Darstellende Künste (2021). Das Kulturreferat der Stadt München hat eine Projektförderung für skin hunger bewilligt, das im November 2021 im HochX Theater in München uraufgeführt wird.

 

Als aktives Mitglied der freien Tanzszene Münchens leitet Ellis das Bad Lemons Project. Mit dem Projekt soll eine lebendige und kollaborative Gemeinschaft durch professionelles Training, Austausch und Forschungsprojekte unter den Tänzer*innen Münchens gefördert werden. 

Kontakt:

info@jasminellis.com

www.jasminellis.com