JUDITH HUMMEL

Judith Hummel works as a freelance artist in the field of performance and choreography at the

interface of movement and visual arts. She deals with themes of intimacy, closeness and distance,

looking at and being looked at. The aim is to create simple yet structured situations that extend over

time and open up diverse perceptual possibilities.

In 2017 and 2018, she developed an archive project on the British choreographer Rosemary Butcher: "Where do we come from? On Rosemary Butcher (1947-2016)", a spatial installation with text, sound and video (schwere reiter, Munich 2017), as well as a publication consisting of interview texts. In the interdisciplinary debut project "AKT tracing, remembering, finding poses from Venus, Olympia and us", three nude models composed performatively staged positions, accompanied by a live musician. (Gallery of Artists, 2014 and RODEO Festival Munich 2016). In the work PAPIERDIALOGE // NKP150/125/100, a dancer and a musician entered into dialogue with the material paper for over two hours. The work continued the research on sculptural movement and sound states (INFEKTION! Staatsoper im Schiller Theater Werkstatt, Berlin 2015; schwere reiter, Munich 2016).

The projects were funded by the Cultural Department of the City of Munich, as well as the Bavarian State Association for Contemporary Dance with funds from the Bavarian Ministry of Science and the Arts (BLZT) and the Richard Stury Foundation.

Judith Hummel has been a member of the choreographers' association Tanztendenz München e.V. since August 2015.

As a performer she has danced in the exhibition formats "12 Rooms/Ruhrtriennale" and "Move/Haus der Kunst" in works by Allora&Calzadilla (Revolving Door, 2012), Xavier Le Roy & Mårten Spångberg (Production, 2011), as well as in stage pieces by Rosemary Butcher, Jérôme Bel, HUNGER&SEIDE, Sabine Glenz, Ruth Geiersberger and Doris Uhlich. She worked as choreographic assistant for Anouk van Dijk and Martin Nachbar. She studied dance and performance at the SNDO - School for New Dance Development in Amsterdam and with international teachers such as João Fiadeiro, Lilia Mestre and Nik Haffner.

She completed her master's degree in theatre studies, art history and education at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich in 2008. In 2021 she started the Master's programme Contemporary Dance Education (MA CoDE) in Frankfurt/Main.

Portrait © Steffen Düvel 2018

Photo cover © Laura Kansy 2021

 

Current :

Where do I come from? Walking - from Romania to Germany (three-part project).

Stage 1 Săcălaz - Szeged 

The resulting film was presented at the RODEO 2020 festival on 28 October 2020 at the Mira Shopping Centre. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfVD8vAX7n4

Stage 2 Hungary - Black Spot

Streamed as part of the DANCE 2021 Festival, 15 + 16 May, TEASER: https://vimeo.com/541388795

Stage 3: Elements from the previous two parts will be incorporated.

 

Contact:

https://judith-hummel.de

hallo@judith-hummel.de 

Judith Hummel Portrait_2021_kompr.tif

JUDITH HUMMEL

Judith Hummel arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin im Bereich Performance und Choreografie an

der Schnittstelle von Bewegung und Bildender Kunst. Sie behandelt Themen von Intimität, Nähe und

Distanz, Betrachten und Betrachtet Werden. Es geht darum, einfache, doch strukturierte

Situationen zu schaffen, die sich über eine gewisse Dauer erstrecken und diverse Wahrnehmungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen.

In den Jahren 2017 und 2018 entwickelte sie im Archivprojekt zur britischen Choreografin Rosemary Butcher: „Where do we come from? On Rosemary Butcher (1947-2016)“, eine Rauminstallation mit Text, Klang und Video (schwere reiter, München 2017), sowie eine Publikation aus Interviewtexten. Im interdisziplinären Debütprojekt „AKT tracing, remembering, finding poses from Venus, Olympia and us“ komponierten drei Aktmodelle performativ inszenierte Positionen, begleitet von einem Live-Musiker. (Galerie der Künstler, 2014 und RODEO Festival München 2016). In der Arbeit PAPIERDIALOGE // NKP150/125/100 gingen eine Tänzerin und ein Musiker über zwei Stunden in Dialog mit dem Material Papier. Die Arbeit setzte die Recherche über skulpturale Bewegung und Klangzustände fort (INFEKTION! Staatsoper im Schiller Theater Werkstatt, Berlin 2015; schwere reiter, München 2016).

Die Projekte wurden gefördert vom Kulturreferat der LH München, sowie vom Bayerischen Landesverband für Zeitgenössischen Tanz aus Mitteln des Bayerischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst (BLZT) und der Richard Stury Stiftung.

Seit August 2015 ist Judith Hummel Mitglied der Choreografen­vereinigung Tanztendenz München e.V.

Als Performerin hat sie in den Ausstellungsformaten „12 Rooms/Ruhrtriennale“ und „Move/Haus der Kunst“ in Arbeiten von Allora&Calzadilla (Revolving Door, 2012), Xavier Le Roy & Mårten Spångberg (Production, 2011) getanzt, sowie in Bühnenstücken von Rosemary Butcher, Jérôme Bel, HUNGER&SEIDE, Sabine Glenz, Ruth Geiersberger und Doris Uhlich. Für Anouk van Dijk und Martin Nachbar arbeitete sie als choreografische Assistenz. Im Bereich Tanz und Performance lernte sie u.a. an der SNDO – School for New Dance Development in Amsterdam sowie bei international arbeitenden Dozenten wie João Fiadeiro, Lilia Mestre und Nik Haffner.

Das Magisterstudium der Theaterwissenschaft, Kunstgeschichte und Pädagogik schloss sie 2008 an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München ab. 2021 hat sie mit dem Masterstudiengang Contemporary Dance Education (MA CoDE) in Frankfurt/Main begonnen.

Portrait © Steffen Düvel 2018

Foto Titelbild © Laura Kansy 2021

Aktuell :

Wo komme ich her? Gehen – von Rumänien nach Deutschland (dreiteiliges Projekt)
Etappe 1 Săcălaz – Szeged 
Der entstandene Film wurde im Rahmen des Festivals RODEO 2020 am 28. Oktober 2020 im Mira Einkaufszentrum präsentiert. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfVD8vAX7n4

Etappe 2 Ungarn – Schwarzer Fleck
Streaming im Rahmen des Festival DANCE 2021, 15. + 16. Mai, TEASER: https://vimeo.com/541388795

Etappe 3: Elemente aus den beiden vorhergehenden Teilen werden mit einfließen.

Kontakt:

https://judith-hummel.de

hallo@judith-hummel.de 

J_Hummel_klein_2.jpg
Judith Hummel Portrait_2021_kompr.tif