KATRIN SCHAFITEL

© Falk Kagelmacher

Katrin Schafitel has lived and worked in Munich since 1999. She is particularly interested in live improvisation. At the moment, the work takes place in public space and exhibition venues, with the object costumes ZWINK 1 and ZWINK 2 by Robert Kis, with the people she encounters inside and outside - indoors and outdoors. #ZWINK2021, supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK - STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR. Support Programme Dance. ZWINK 2 was invited in cooperation with the alphornist Katrin Vogel at the soundance festival in Berlin 2021 as well as at "geöffnet - we are open" Schwere Reiter Munich. ZWINK 1 was able to make a stopover at the KloHäuschen München and the Containergalerie in Munich.

Thanks to project funding and support from colleagues, institutions, associations and natural persons, as well as relatives, acquaintances, friends and companions, I was and am able to learn, experiment, perform and be. It is hunger and curiosity, a necessity of life, the work with the body in and with movement. For my mental and physical balance, also called health, I need this - the creative, experimental work with the body and the artistic exchange with my environment.

As a freelance dancer, she has worked with a wide variety of choreographers and directors, including Rosemary Butcher, Stefan Dreher, Caroline Finn, Achim Freyer, Zenta Haerter, Amir Hosseinpour, Anna Konjetzky, Andreas Kriegenburg, Helmut Ott, Claudia Senoner, Katja Wachter and Richard Wagner.


With them she was invited to national and international festivals, e.g. Festival Rencontres Essonne Danse - Paris, Festival Interplay - Turin, Les Repérages - Lille, Amber Festival - Istanbul, Soliloquios y Diálogos Bailados - Mexico D.F., International Dance Festival - Athens and Lisbon, DANCE Festival and SpielART Festival - Munich, Temps d'images - Düsseldorf, Nottdance Festival - Nottingham.
In 2012 she won the Critics' Prize at the Festival of Choreographic Miniatures (FKM) in Belgrade together with Katja Wachter with the duet Boléro-Bolero. In 2012, together with Katja Wachter, she won the Critics' Prize at the Festival of Choreographic Miniatures (FKM) in Belgrade with the duet Boléro-Bolero. She has received work and further education scholarships from the city of Munich several times.

"As a dancer, Katrin Schafitel has been one of the formative players in the independent Munich dance scene since 1999. With her nuanced, fully matured performing personality, she has worked in productions by Katja Wachter, Angela Dauber, Monica Gomis, Helmut Ott and Anna Konjetzky, among others. She also performs at the Bavarian State Opera and can be seen on national stages and at international festivals. Up to now, the plays of others have lived from her charisma and expressiveness - with simultaneous aesthetic agility. Now the artist is ready to go one step further." (from the jury statement 2013)

She is interested in the intersection of dance, music and visual arts and in researching improvisation in the exchange of composition, choreography and performance.

 

Contact

K.Schafitel@web.de

SchafitelKatrin(c)FalkKagelmacher.jpg

KATRIN SCHAFITEL

© Falk Kagelmacher

Katrin Schafitel lebt und arbeitet seit 1999 in München. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt der Live-Improvisation. Im Moment findet die Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum und Ausstellungsorten statt, mit den Objekt-Kostümen ZWINK 1 und ZWINK 2 von Robert Kis, mit den Menschen, die ihr begegnen im Innen und Außen - Drinnen und Draußen. #ZWINK2021, unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ - STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz. ZWINK 2 war in Kooperation mit der Alphornistin Katrin Vogel beim soundance festival in Berlin 2021 sowie bei „geöffnet - we are open“ Schwere Reiter München eingeladen. ZWINK 1 konnte im KloHäuschen München und in der Containergalerie in München einen Zwischenstopp einlegen.

Dank Projektförderungen und Unterstützung seitens Kolleg:innen, Institutionen, Vereinen und natürlichen Personen, sowie auch Verwandten, Bekannten, Freunden und Wegbegleiter:innen konnte und darf ich lernen, experimentieren, darstellen und sein. Es ist Hunger und Neugierde, eine Lebensnotwendigkeit, die Arbeit mit dem Körper in und mit Bewegung. Für mein seelisches und körperliches Gleichgewicht, auch Gesundheit genannt, brauche ich das - die kreative, experimentelle Arbeit mit dem Körper und den künstlerischen Austausch mit meiner Umwelt.

Als freiberufliche Tänzerin arbeitete sie mit unterschiedlichsten Choreograf:innen und Regisseur:innen zusammen, u.a. Rosemary Butcher, Stefan Dreher, Caroline Finn, Achim Freyer, Zenta Haerter, Amir Hosseinpour, Anna Konjetzky, Andreas Kriegenburg, Helmut Ott, Claudia Senoner, Katja Wachter und Richard Wagner.

Mit diesen wurde sie auf nationale und internationale Festivals eingeladen, z.B. Festival Rencontres Essonne Danse - Paris, Festival Interplay - Turin, Les Repérages - Lille, Amber Festival - Istanbul, Soliloquios y Diálogos Bailados - Mexiko D.F., International Dance Festival - Athen und Lissabon, DANCE Festival und SpielART Festival - München, Temps d’images - Düsseldorf, Nottdance Festival - Nottingham.
2012 gewann sie zusammen mit Katja Wachter mit dem Duett Boléro-Bolero den Kritikerpreis beim Festival of Choreographic Miniatures (FKM) in Belgrad. 2012 gewann sie zusammen mit Katja Wachter mit dem Duett Boléro-Bolero den Kritikerpreis beim Festival of Choreographic Miniatures (FKM) in Belgrad. Mehrmals erhielt sie Arbeits- und Weiterbildungsstipendien der Stadt München.

"Als Tänzerin gehört Katrin Schafitel seit 1999 zu den prägenden Akteuren in der freien Münchner Tanzszene. Mit ihrer nuancenreichen, voll ausgereiften Darstellerpersönlichkeit hat sie u.a. bei Produktionen von Katja Wachter, Angela Dauber, Monica Gomis, Helmut Ott und Anna Konjetzky mitgewirkt. Daneben tritt sie in der Bayerischen Staatsoper auf und ist auf nationalen Bühnen und internationalen Festivals zu sehen. Von ihrem Charisma und ihrer Ausdruckskraft – bei gleichzeitiger ästhetischer Beweglichkeit – leben bisher die Stücke anderer. Nun ist die Künstlerin bereit, einen Schritt weiter zu gehen." (aus der Jurybegründung 2013)

Ihr Interesse gilt Schnittstellen von Tanz, Musik und bildender Kunst und der Recherche zur Improvisation im Austausch von Komposition, Choreografie und Performance.

Kontakt

K.Schafitel@web.de

SchafitelKatrin(c)FalkKagelmacher.jpg