Bild-012.jpg

Meeting Points

The Work Room, Glasgow and Tanzbüro München have launched this project with the aim of establishing a long-term exchange and creative collaboration between independent choreographers in Scotland and Germany. The international exchange project "Meeting Points" is the first cooperation between Tanzbüro München and The Work Room/Glasgow.

Meeting Points – The Projekt

Meeting Points is the first collaboration between The Work Room (Glasgow, Scotland) and Tanzbüro München. The aim is to establish a long-term network for exchange and joint projects between the two organizations. The project will also be the starting point for further artistic collaborations between Scottish and German artists.

 

Within the framework of the project, two one-week meetings in the form of research labs will be realized - one week in Glasgow and one in Munich. The focus is not only on exchange with the other artists, but also on networking in the city, which is why the Research Labs take place during festivals.

 

The Work Room (TWR) is a membership-based organization that aims to create a sustainable environment for independent artists in Scotland. Its mission is to support artists in the practice of their profession by assisting them in the production of high quality contemporary dance formats in a national and international context.

national and international context. Among other things, studios are available at Tramway Glasgow for which residencies are awarded to choreographers.

Meeting Points II - Munich goes Glasgow

After the first week of work in November, the four dance makers, Laura Saumweber, Quindell Orton (Munich) and Bridie Gane, David West (Glasgow), met in Glasgow from May 9-15 for the second Research Lab.  The four artists came together to exchange ideas and work with each other in the studio. A trip to  Cove Park, a venue for artist:in residencies, was also organized, as well as a day in Edinburgh at Imaginate – Edinburgh International Children's Festival to expand personal networks and learn more about the dance scene and the country.

On May 13, there was a reception at the Goethe Institute in Glasgow, where the artists shared their experiences.

Meeting Points II Cove Park.JPG

Meeting Points II - Glasgow goes Munich

From November 3rd to 9th the Scottish dancers and choreographers from The Work Room, Glasgow Bridie Gane and David West visited us.

Together with the Munich-based dance makers Laura Saumweber and Quindell Orton, they had the opportunity to spend a lot of time in the Playground Studio on the Kreativquartier site, to get to know each other and to exchange ideas about their work and to try out working approaches and practices in dance.

On the first day there was an impulse by Susanne Schneider, during the week the artists had the opportunity to participate in the Bad Lemons Project. At the end of the intensive working week there was a get-together in the studio with representatives of the dance scene from Munich.

We look forward to seeing you again in Glasgow in May 2022!

Bild-083.jpg
Bild-042.jpg

Meeting Points II - Artists

Also for the second round it was not an easy decision to select four dance artists for the cooperation project between The Work Room, Glasgow and Tanzbüro München. But now the artists have been chosen:

 

 Laura Saumweber and Quindell Orton from Munich will participate and will use the second round of the project "Meeting Points" with the Scottish dance makers Bridie Gane and David West to exchange ideas without the usual production pressure. The first meeting will take place in November 2021 in Munich, then in May 2022 they will go to Glasgow.

Laura.JPG

Laura Saumweber

München

Bridie.jpg

Bridie Gane

Glasgow

Quindell.JPG

Quindell Orton

München

David.jpg

David West

Glasgow

Meeting Points II is supported by DIEHL+RITTER/TANZPAKT RECONNECT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Aid Program Dance.

DR_Logo_fuer_Web.jpeg
BKM_Neustart_Kultur_Wortmarke_pos_CMYK_RZ.jpg
BKM_Web_de.gif

Meeting Points I - Glasgow goes Munich

After a first collaborative week of work in Glasgow in October 2019, Sahra Huby and Ceren Oran (Munich), Rob Heaslip and Tamsyn Russell (Glasgow) now met for the second Research Lab in Munich in early March 2020. The four artists came together again for a week to share their practices in the studio, exchange experiences and work together as part of the Dance Platform Germany 2020. The opportunity for each artist to expand personal networks and learn more about the dance scene in their respective countries.

On March 7, 2020, the artists opened the studio to give visitors of the Dance Platform an insight into their working process.

Bild-08.jpg
Meeting Points_Munich.jpeg

Meeting Points I - Artists

It was not an easy decision given the many exciting applications for Meeting Points, the first cooperation between The Work Room (Glasgow, Scotland) and Tanzbüro München, but now the four participants have been chosen:

 

Sahra Huby and Ceren Oran will travel to Glasgow in October to exchange ideas with their Scottish colleagues Tamsyn Russell and Rob Heaslip. Next March, the second joint meeting will take place in Munich as part of the Dance Platform 2020.

 

As part of an open-ended research lab, the artists will have the opportunity to exchange ideas, attend performances together and, of course, get to know other artists, important venues and institutions in the other city.

Ceren Oran

Ceren Oran

München

Rob (c) The Work Room

Rob Heaslip

Glasgow

Sahra Huby

Sahra Huby

München

Tamsyn (c) The Work Room

Tamsyn Russell

Glasgow

Meeting Points is supported by the British Council Germany & British Council Scottland and is a cooperation of Tanzbüro München and The Work Room.

british-council-logo-bw-768x220.png
BOI0NUTA_400x400.jpg
tanzbueromuenchen_Logo_rgb.png
lhmuench-1.jpg

Meeting Points I - Munich goes Glasgow

From October 21 to 26, the Müchner dancers and choreographers Sahra Huby and Ceren Oran were guests of The Work Room, Glasgow. Together with the Scottish project participants, Tamsyn Russell and Rob Heaslip, they had the opportunity to spend a lot of time in The Work Room studio, to get to know each other and to try out different working approaches and ideas without the usual production pressure. In addition, there was further input: an impulse workshop with Christine Devaney from Curious Seed, morning professional trainings with teachers and dancers from the local scene, a reception at the Goethe-Institut and the joint visit of several performances of the festival Dance International Glasgow. An intense, wonderful artistic exchange that fortunately continues: we look forward to seeing you again in Munich in early March 2020.

whatimworkingon_tanzbuero_dtp.jpg
meeting points_Glasgow.jpg

Bild-012.jpg

Meeting Points

The Work Room, Glasgow und das Tanzbüro München haben dieses Projekt mit dem Ziel gestartet, einen langfristigen Austausch und eine kreative Zusammenarbeit zwischen unabhängigen Choreografen in Schottland und Deutschland herzustellen. Das internationale Austauschprojekt "Meeting Points" ist die erste Kooperation zwischen dem Tanzbüro München und The Work Room/Glasgow.

Meeting Points – Das Projekt

Meeting Points ist die erste Zusammenarbeit zwischen The Work Room (Glasgow, Schottland) und dem Tanzbüro München. Ziel ist der Aufbau eines langfristigen Netzwerks für Austausch und gemeinsame Projekte zwischen den beiden Organisationen. Das Projekt soll zudem Start und Ausgangspunkt weiterer künstlerischer Kooperationen schottischer und deutscher Künstler:innen sein.


Im Rahmen des Projekts werden zwei einwöchige Treffen in Form von Research Labs realisiert - eine Woche in Glasgow und eine in München. Dabei steht nicht nur der Austausch mit den anderen Künstler:innen im Zentrum, sondern auch die Netzwerkarbeit in der Stadt, weshalb die Research Labs während Festivals stattfinden.

 

The Work Room (TWR) ist eine mitgliederbasierte Organisation, die es sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, eine nachhaltige Umgebung für frei arbeitende Künstler:innen in Schottland zu schaffen. Deren Aufgabe ist die Unterstützung von Künstler:innen bei der Ausübung ihrer Profession, indem sie sie bei der Produktion qualitativ hochwertiger zeitgenössischer Tanzformate im
nationalen und internationalen Kontext unterstützen. Hierfür stehen unter anderem Studios im Tramway Glasgow zur Verfügung, für die Residencies für Choreograf:innen vergeben werden.

Meeting Points II - Munich goes Glasgow

Nach der ersten Arbeitswoche im November trafen sich die vier Tanzschaffenden, Laura Saumweber, Quindell Orton (München) und Bridie Gane, David West (Glasgow), vom 09. bis 15. Mai in Glasgow für das zweite Research Lab.  Die vier Künstler:innen kamen zusammen, um sich im Studio auszutauschen und miteinander zu arbeiten. Außerdem wurde ein Ausflug nach Cove Park, einem Ort für Künstler:innenresidenzen, organisiert, ebenso wie ein Tag in Edinburgh beim Imaginate – Edinburgh International Children's Festival, um die persönlichen Netzwerke zu erweitern und mehr über die Tanzszene und das Land zu erfahren.

Am 13. Mai gab es einen Empfang beim Goethe Institut in Glasgow, bei dem die Künstler:innen von ihren Erfahrungen berichteten.

Meeting Points II Cove Park.JPG

Meeting Points II - Glasgow goes Munich

Vom 03. bis 09. November warren die schottischen Tänzer:innen und Choreograf:innen von The Work Room, Glasgow Bridie Gane und David West bei uns zu Besuch.
Zusammen mit den Münchner Tanzschaffenden Laura Saumweber und Quindell Orton hatten sie die Möglichkeit, viel Zeit im Playground Studio auf dem Kreativquartier Gelände zu verbringen, sich kennen zu lernen und sich über ihre Arbeit auszutauschen und Arbeitsansätze und Praktiken tänzerisch auszuprobieren.

Am ersten Tag gab es einen Impuls von Susanne Schneider, während der Woche hatten die Künstler:innen die Möglichkeit, am Bad Lemons Project teilzunehmen. Zum Abschluss der intensiven Arbeitswoche gab eis ein Get Together im Studio mit Vertreter:innen der Tanzszene aus München.

Wir freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen im Mai 2022 in Glasgow!

 

Bild-083.jpg
Bild-042.jpg

Meeting Points II - Künstler:innen

Auch für die zweite Runde war es keine leichte Entscheidung für das Kooperationsprojekt zwischen The Work Room, Glasgow und dem Tanzbüro München vier Tanzschaffende auszuwählen. Nun stehen die Künstler:innen aber fest:

Aus München nehmen Laura Saumweber und Quindell Orton teil und werden mit den schottischen Tanzschaffenden Bridie Gane und David West die zweite Runde des Projekts "Meeting Points" nutzen, um sich ohne den üblichen Produktionsdruck austauschen zu können. Das erste Treffen findet im November 2021 in München statt, im Mai 2022 geht es dann nach Glasgow.

Laura.JPG

Laura Saumweber

München

Bridie.jpg

Bridie Gane

Glasgow

Quindell.JPG

Quindell Orton

München

David.jpg

David West

Glasgow

Meeting Points II werden unterstützt durch DIEHL+RITTER/TANZPAKT RECONNECT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz.

DR_Logo_fuer_Web.jpeg
BKM_Neustart_Kultur_Wortmarke_pos_CMYK_RZ.jpg
BKM_Web_de.gif

Meeting Points I - Glasgow goes Munich

Nach einer ersten gemeinsamen Arbeitswoche im Oktober 2019 in Glasgow trafen sich Sahra Huby und Ceren Oran (München), Rob Heaslip und Tamsyn Russell (Glasgow) nun Anfang März 2020 für das zweite Research Lab in München. Die vier Künstler:innen kamen für eine Woche wieder zusammen, um Ihre Praktiken im Studio zu teilen, Erfahrungen auszutauschen und gemeinsam im Rahmen der Tanzplattform Deutschland 2020 zu arbeiten. Die Gelegenheit für jede:n Künstler:in, persönliche Netzwerke zu erweitern und mehr über die Tanzszene im jeweiligen Land zu erfahren.

Am  7. März 2020  öffneten die Künstler:innen das Studio um im Rahmen eines Showings, um Besucher:innen der Tanzplattform einen Einblick in ihren Arbeitsprozess zu geben.

 

Bild-08.jpg
Meeting Points_Munich.jpeg

Meeting Points I - Künstler:innen

Es war keine leichte Entscheidung angesichts der vielen spannenden Bewerbungen für Meeting Points, der ersten Kooperation zwischen The Work Room (Glasgow, Schottland) und dem Tanzbüro München, aber nun stehen die vier Teilnehmer:innen fest:

 

Sahra Huby und Ceren Oran reisen im Oktober nach Glasgow, um sich mit ihren schottischen Kolleg:innen Tamsyn Russell und Rob Heaslip auszutauschen. Kommenden März findet im Rahmen der Tanzplattform 2020 das zweite gemeinsame Treffen in München statt.

 

Im Rahmen eines ergebnisoffenen Research-Labs haben die Künstler:innen die Möglichkeit, sich intensiv auszutauschen, gemeinsam Vorstellungen zu besuchen und natürlich auch andere Kunstschaffende, wichtige Orte und Institutionen in der jeweils anderen Stadt kennen zu lernen.

Ceren Oran

Ceren Oran

München

Rob (c) The Work Room

Rob Heaslip

Glasgow

Sahra Huby

Sahra Huby

München

Tamsyn (c) The Work Room

Tamsyn Russell

Glasgow

Meeting Points wird gefördert vom British Council Germany  & British Council Scottland und ist eine Kooperation von Tanzbüro München und The Work Room.

british-council-logo-bw-768x220.png
BOI0NUTA_400x400.jpg
tanzbueromuenchen_Logo_rgb.png
lhmuench-1.jpg

Meeting Points I - Munich goes Glasgow

Vom 21. Bis 26. Oktober waren die Müchner Tänzerinnen und Choreografinnen Sahra Huby und Ceren Oran Gäste von The Work Room, Glasgow. Zusammen mit den schottischen Projektteilnehmer:innen, Tamsyn Russell und Rob Heaslip, hatten sie die Möglichkeit, viel Zeit im The Work Room-Studio zu verbringen, sich gegenseitig kennen zu lernen und ohne den üblichen Produktionsdruck unterschiedliche Arbeitsansätze und Ideen auszuprobieren. Zudem gab es weiteren Input: ein Impulsworkshop mit Christine Devaney von Curious Seed, morgendliche Profitrainings mit Lehrern und Tänzer:innen der lokalen Szene, einen Empfang beim Goethe-Institut und der gemeinsame Besuch mehrerer Vorstellungen des Festivals Dance International Glasgow. Ein intensiver, wunderbarer künstlerischer Austausch, der zum Glück noch weitergeht: Wir freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen Anfang März 2020 in München.

 

whatimworkingon_tanzbuero_dtp.jpg
meeting points_Glasgow.jpg