7thoughts_logo_white.png

After the pandemic is the new now - meeting new challenges for contemporary dance in Munich.

 

To give a face to the diversity of the dance scene in Munich, professional video portraits were created by seven choreographers of the Munich independent scene. In the spirit of the project title "7 thoughts about dance", Jasmine Ellis, Stephan Herwig, Anna Konjetzky, Ceren Oran, Moritz Ostruschnjak, Micha Purucker and Diego Tortelli provide insight into their working methods and choreographic ways of thinking. Dance-makers of different generations were selected, all of whom have an unmistakable aesthetic signature: Micha Purucker, the "grand seigneur" of the scene who has been active since the 1980s; Anna Konjetzky, a queer feminist who has been touring internationally for more than two decades; Stephan Herwig, a purist who originally came from the Purucker company; Jasmine Ellis, a film and stage choreographer with a penchant for cross-disciplinary work, the mash-up specialist with TikTok dramaturgy Moritz Ostruschnjak, Ceren Oran, who produces for young and adult audiences alike and has a preference for public space, and Diego Tortelli, who plays with technology and scientific theories. 

The films were conceived and realized by the creative producer Miria Wurm, the interviews with the choreographers were conducted by the choreographer Terry Kohler. With the filmmaker Anne Gryczka from Rue Nouvelle/Paris and her sister Marie (photography, assistant director), congenial companions were found. Each dance maker was given a day of filming in their own setting, during which the interviews were conducted and rehearsal situations were partly filmed. The exclusively shot material is supplemented by film clips of already existing works in order to depict the range of the artists' respective work: "In developing the artist portraits, the literal portrait idea was most important to me, i.e. to show the head, the person behind the art. On the one hand, I always find illuminating the background extremely exciting, because it shows the process and the thoughts behind the pieces, which actually only show a snapshot and an actual state in front of an audience at a certain point in time. On the other hand, I think we always look for the person behind the art, since it is this person with whom we want to enter into exchange - the art only serves as an interface." (Miria Wurm)

 

In addition to the film material, portrait photos of all participating choreographers were taken during the shooting week (photography: Marie Gryczka) as well as behind-the-scenes footage for social media (social media manager: Sara Kurig). The resulting photo, video and social media material serves various purposes: on the one hand, it is part of the media campaign for contemporary dance in Munich; on the other hand, it is subsequently made available to the artists for their own promotional purposes. The background to this is that very few choreographers are financially able to produce professional video portraits. With "7 thoughts about dance" the TANZBÜRO MÜNCHEN wants to support, empower and professionalize the actors of the independent scene with regard to their public presentation.

 

International Dance Fair 2022 / Düsseldorf

In addition to the visibility in the city of Munich, a national and international charisma and networking of the Munich independent scene are important aspects in the work of the TANZBÜROS. For this reason, the TANZBÜRO team, together with the seven choreographers of "7 thoughts about dance" and other Munich dance professionals, will participate in the International Dance Fair in Düsseldorf from August 31 to September 3, 2022. There, the TANZBÜRO MÜNCHEN, together with other offices and networks, will be represented with its own booth under the overarching title "Dance from Germany" on the initiative of the Dachverband Tanz. This first opportunity of a strong and concerted fair appearance of the German offices and networks will be used to present the Munich artists:inside optimally in the context of different discussion and presentation formats. In addition to the video portraits and a trailer about Tanzbüro München, which can be shown at the trade fair stand and via a server independent of location, the TANZBÜRO team is developing suitable exchange and presentation formats and additional promotional material, among other things within the framework of "Dance from Germany". In this way, interested visitors to the fair can gain an insight into current productions and the respective working methods of the participating choreographers. This should support them in the acquisition of guest performances and the search for cooperation partners for future projects.

 

"We at TANZBÜRO are convinced of the enormous potential of contemporary dance from Munich. The independent scene is diverse, works on a high artistic level and has individual signatures. Especially the pandemic years have shown that physicality, community, live events are irreplaceable. Also, togetherness across language and attitude boundaries is more important than ever - dance in all its facets can build bridges here."

 

"7 thoughts about dance" is supported by DIEHL+ RITTER /TANZPAKT RECONNECT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the initiative NEUSTART KULUTUR. Support program dance.

TANZBÜRO MÜNCHEN is supported by the Cultural Department of the City of Munich.

Logos 7 thoughts.png

7thoughts_logo_white.png

Nach der Pandemie ist das neue Jetzt – Begegnung mit neuen Herausforderungen für den zeitgenössischen Tanz in München.

Um der Vielfalt der Tanzszene in München ein Gesicht zu geben, wurden von sieben Choreograf:innen der Münchner Freien Szene professionelle Videoportraits erstellt. Ganz im Sinne des Projekttitels „7 thoughts about dance“ gewähren Jasmine Ellis, Stephan Herwig, Anna Konjetzky, Ceren Oran, Moritz Ostruschnjak, Micha Purucker und Diego Tortelli Einblick in ihre Arbeitsmethoden und choreografischen Denkweisen. Ausgewählt wurden Tanzschaffende unterschiedlicher Generationen, die alle über eine unverwechselbare ästhetische Handschrift verfügen: Der seit den 1980er Jahren aktive „Grandseigneur“ der Szene Micha Purucker, die seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten international tourende, queer-feministische Anna Konjetzky, der puristische, ursprünglich aus der Purucker-Compagnie kommende Stephan Herwig, die Film- und Bühnenchoreografin Jasmine Ellis mit Vorliebe für Spartenübergreifendes, der Mash-up-Spezialist mit TikTok-Dramaturgie Moritz Ostruschnjak, die gleichermaßen für junges und erwachsenes Publikum produzierende Ceren Oran mit Vorliebe für den öffentlichen Raum und der mit Technologie und wissenschaftlichen Theorien spielende Diego Tortelli. 

Konzipiert und realisiert wurden die Filme von der Creative Producerin Miria Wurm, die Interviews mit den Choreograf:innen führte der Choreograf Terry Kohler. Mit der Filmemacherin Anne Gryczka von Rue Nouvelle/Paris und ihrer Schwester Marie (Fotografie, Regieassistenz) konnten kongeniale Mitstreiterinnen gefunden werden. Für jeden Tanzschaffenden stand ein Drehtag im eigenen Setting zur Verfügung, an dem die Interviews geführt und zum Teil auch Probensituationen gefilmt wurden. Ergänzt wird das exklusiv gedrehte Material durch Filmausschnitte bereits existierender Werke, um die Bandbreite des jeweiligen Schaffens der Künstler:innen abzubilden: "Bei der Erarbeitung der Künstlerportraits war mir der wortwörtliche Portraitgedanke am wichtigsten, also den Kopf, die Person hinter der Kunst zu zeigen. Zum einen finde ich ein Beleuchten des Hintergrunds immer extrem spannend, da es den Prozess und die Gedanken hinter den Stücken zeigt, die ja eigentlich nur eine Momentaufnahme und einen Ist-Stand vor Publikum zu einer gewissen Auseinandersetzung an Zeitpunkt X zeigen. Zum anderen denke ich, dass wir immer die Person hinter der Kunst suchen, da es diese ist, mit der wir in Austausch gehen wollen – die Kunst dient nur als Interface." (Miria Wurm)

 

Zusätzlich zum Filmmaterial entstanden während der Drehwoche Portraitfotos aller beteiligten Choreograf:innen (Fotografie: Marie Gryczka) sowie behind-the-scenes Footagematerial für Social Media (Social Media-Manager: Sara Kurig). Das so erstellte Foto-, Video- und Social Media Material dient verschiedenen Zwecken: Einerseits ist es Teil der Medienkampagne für den zeitgenössischen Tanz in München; andererseits wird es den Künstler:innen anschließend für ihre eigenen Werbzwecke zur Verfügung gestellt. Hintergrund ist, dass den wenigsten Choreograf:innen die Erstellung professioneller Videoportraits finanziell möglich ist. Mit „7 thoughts about dance“ möchte das TANZBÜRO MÜNCHEN die Akteur:innen der Freien Szene möglichst passgenau unterstützen, empowern und in Bezug auf ihre öffentliche Darstellung professionalisieren.

 

Internationale Tanzmesse 2022 / Düsseldorf

Neben der Sichtbarkeit in der Stadt München sind auch eine nationale und internationale Ausstrahlung und Vernetzung der Müncher Freien Szene wichtige Aspekte in der Arbeit des TANZBÜROS. Aus diesem Grund nehmen das TANZBÜRO-Team zusammen mit den sieben Choreograf:innen von „7 thoughts about dance“ und weiteren Münchner Tanzschaffenden von 31. August bis 3. September 2022 an der Internationalen Tanzmesse in Düsseldorf teil. Dort ist das TANZBÜRO MÜNCHEN zusammen mit anderen Büros und Netzwerken auf Initiative des Dachverband Tanz unter dem übergreifenden Titel „Tanz aus Deutschland“ mit einem eigenen Stand vertreten. Diese erstmalige Chance eines starken und konzertierten Messeauftritts der deutschen Büros und Netzwerke wird genutzt, um im Rahmen verschiedener Gesprächs- und Präsentationsformate die Münchner Künstler:innen optimal zu präsentieren. Neben den Videoportaits und einem Trailer zum Tanzbüro München, die am Messestand und über einen Server auch ortsunabhängig gezeigt werden können, entwickelt das TANZBÜRO-Team, u.a. im Rahmen von „Tanz aus Deutschland“ geeignete Austausch- und Präsentationsformate und zusätzliches Promotionmaterial. So können interessierte Messebesucher:innen einen Einblick in aktuelle Produktionen und die jeweilige Arbeitsweise der teilnehmenden Choreograf:innen erhalten. Hierdurch sollen sie bei der Akquise von Gastspielen und der Suche nach Kooperationspartner:innen für künftige Projekte unterstützt werden.

 

„Wir vom TANZBÜRO sind vom enormen Potential des zeitgenössischen Tanzes aus München überzeugt. Die Freie Szene ist vielfältig, arbeitet auf hohem künstlerischen Niveau und verfügt über individuelle Handschriften. Gerade die Pandemiejahre haben gezeigt, dass Körperlichkeit, Gemeinschaf, Live-Events nicht zu ersetzen sind. Auch ein Miteinander über Sprach- und Einstellungsgrenzen hinweg ist wichtiger denn je – der Tanz in all seinen Facetten kann hier Brücken bauen.“

 

„7 thoughts about dance“ wird unterstützt durch DIEHL+ RITTER /TANZPAKT RECONNECT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULUTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz.

TANZBÜRO MÜNCHEN wird gefördert vom Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München.

Logos 7 thoughts.png