Creatio Continua 1.png

Creatio Continua

A choreographic motion capture digital archive project

by Terence Kohler

Although we consider ourselves a sophisticated culture, creation itself is at once illusory, intangible, and unpredictable. It serves to express that which we cannot understand, and so far defies systematic or scientific categorization. The experience of creation is often intimate and highly personal, and we continue to struggle and attempt to give form to what is potentially something that exists outside the periphery of our understanding.

Choreographers are highly adept at giving form to the experience of their lives beyond the rationalization of words or definitions, often using the body as a technological instrument in its own right. This finely tuned technology allows for an ongoing relationship with the creative abyss, a conversation with the unknown, and it is their curiosity and craft of movement practice that gives form to the search and sharing of their expressions of truth for others to interpret and share.

 

CREATIO CONTINUA is a digital archive project that seeks to valorize the act of creation by providing a platform for a community of choreographers associated with Munich to unite in artistic solidarity. By curating a digital database of shared movement vocabulary, our project strives to highlight a collective approach to creation and facilitate an exploration of the potentially shared subconscious of a group of geographically unified dance artists.

 

Concept & Artistic Direction: Terence Kohler

Production Manager: Miria Wurm

Participating Choreographers: Jasmine EllisAnna KonjetzkyMoritz OstruschnjakCeren OranLéonard EngelDiego TortelliDustin Klein, Jemima Rose Dean, Sahra HubyStephan Herwig and others.

 

Supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK - STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Aid Program Dance. With the kind support of Tanzbüro München.

NPN_schwarz.jpg
BKM_Neustart_Kultur_Wortmarke_pos_CMYK_RZ.jpg
BKM_Web_de.gif
tanzbueromuenchen_Logo_rgb.png

Creatio Continua 1.png

Creatio Continua

Ein choreographisches Motion-Capture-Digitalarchiv-Projekt

von Terence Kohler

Obwohl wir uns für eine hoch entwickelte Kultur halten, ist die Kreation selbst gleichzeitig illusorisch, ungreifbar und unvorhersehbar. Sie dient dazu, das auszudrücken, was wir nicht verstehen können, und entzieht sich bisher einer systematischen oder wissenschaftlichen Kategorisierung. Die Erfahrung der Schöpfung ist oft intim und höchst persönlich, und wir ringen und versuchen weiterhin, dem Gestalt zu geben, was potenziell etwas ist, das außerhalb der Peripherie unseres Verständnisses existiert.
Choreograf:innenen sind sehr geschickt darin, der Erfahrung ihres Lebens eine Form zu geben, die über die Rationalisierung von Worten oder Definitionen hinausgeht und oft den Körper als eigenständiges technologisches Instrument benutzt. Diese fein abgestimmte Technologie ermöglicht eine fortwährende Beziehung zum kreativen Abgrund, ein Gespräch mit dem Unbekannten, und es ist ihre Neugierde und das Handwerk der Bewegungspraxis, die der Suche und dem Austausch ihrer Ausdrucksformen der Wahrheit Form geben, damit andere sie interpretieren und teilen können.

CREATIO CONTINUA ist ein digitales Archivprojekt, das versucht, den Schöpfungsakt aufzuwerten, indem es einer mit München assoziierten Gemeinschaft von Choreograf:innen eine Plattform bietet, sich in künstlerischer Solidarität zu vereinen. Durch das Kuratieren einer digitalen Datenbank mit gemeinsamem Bewegungsvokabular strebt unser Projekt danach, einen kollektiven Ansatz für das Schaffen hervorzuheben und eine Erkundung des potenziell gemeinsamen Unterbewusstseins einer Gruppe geographisch vereinter Tanzkünstler:innen zu ermöglichen.

Konzept & künstlerische Leitung: Terence Kohler
Produktionsleitung: Miria Wurm
Beteiligte Choreograf:innen: Jasmine EllisAnna KonjetzkyMoritz OstruschnjakCeren OranLéonard EngelDiego TortelliDustin Klein, Jemima Rose Dean, Sahra HubyStephan Herwig und weitere.

Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ - STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Tanzbüro München.

NPN_schwarz.jpg
BKM_Neustart_Kultur_Wortmarke_pos_CMYK_RZ.jpg
BKM_Web_de.gif
tanzbueromuenchen_Logo_rgb.png